My Experience with Layoffs

I have technically been through 3 layoffs in my short life as of today.

  1.  I was a nanny for a family in my old neighborhood.  The husband was a doctor, the wife a stay at home mom and one child.  This was an awesome summer job and I enjoyed what I was doing.  When the mother was about 6 months pregnant with her second child I was given “the talk”.  Turns out they were going to hire a full-time, live-in nanny and they didn’t have use for me anymore.  I was devastated.
  2. My first real layoff was with a large, Fortune 500, Pharmaceutical company.  I moved to this company from my first pharmaceutical position because I felt like there were so many different areas in which I could grow and expand my career.  I am blessed to have received the amazing sales training that they provided and pull from those lessons almost daily.  A little over a year into my career with the company there began to be rumors of a large layoff.  Unfortunately for me I never had a thought that this would affect me.  For some reason I thought I was immune until the night before the big conference call when I realized the phone number I had to call was the same as several other people who were afraid for their jobs.  In June 2009, I was one of the 1000 people nationwide that would be losing their job.  I wish I still had this job, because I do believe in the company and what they stood for.  Of course it sucks losing your job, but they took care of us the best way they could.  We were allowed to keep the company cars for 2 months, were paid for the same 2 months and then received severance on top of that.  I still keep in touch with several former co-workers and hope maybe someday I will be back here again. 
  3. I started a different pharmaceutical position and worked in the field for them a mere 8 weeks.   (Most companies say that it could take up to 6 months to truly determine your level of success.)  One morning out of the blue I got a call from my manager who said he needed to meet with me right away.  I thought this was really strange but agreed to meet him.  He promptly started asking me questions about work activity and specific dates and what I was doing on those days.  Was I working on those specific dates?  Yes, of course I was.  Did I have documentation about who I saw?  Not always, but this was my mistake I made and misunderstanding of what they wanted from me.  Was this worth getting fired for?  I don’t think so, how about a warning first or ask me what my activities consisted of.  Why couldn’t he bring this up and ask me to start documenting every office?  One conference call with my manager and HR lady, and several tears later, I was once again unemployed.  Several months later I found out that the company was downsizing and didn’t want to have to pay anyone severance so they were looking for any and every excuse to get rid of people.  Obviously I wish I still had a job, but it feels much better knowing that I could not have prevented what happened to me.  In the end it is a blessing in disguise because I don’t want to work for a company that doubts everything their employees do and don’t provide any loyalty.

Today my efforts consist of searching for a position to continue my career in Pharmaceutical Sales.  I believe that with my strong science background, and outgoing personality that I was made for this field.  The industry has been rapidly shrinking over the past few years, but I believe that there is a position out there waiting for me.  In the meantime I am networking like crazy.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mindy
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 14:15:50

    Charlotte,
    I can certainly sympathize you on how it feels to be laid off. It can be a very down time in your life and causes you ask, “why me?” I will say from experience that I firmly believe God has a plan for you. Just have faith that he will lead you in the right direction.

    I know you. Any company will be lucky to have you as an employee. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers. In the meantime, I’m really enjoying your new blog!

    Reply

    • charlottalifetolive
      Sep 15, 2010 @ 16:18:12

      Thank you Mindy! I have definitely been learning a good lesson in patience. In the back of my mind I know there is something great out there that God is saving for me. As the days tick by though, it is hard to not get frustrated or start wondering when it will happen. Thank you for your prayers, and I will keep you updated!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

