Before the Wedding, Part 1

Meeting My Love

As part of my New Year’s 2008 goals I decided that I needed to distance myself from past relationships and start anew.  The way I started this was to join eHarmony.  I wasn’t sure if this would work for me or not, I had previously joined Match and didn’t have any luck, and met several jerks.  I went on a few dates with one guy who was very nice, just not for me.  I changed a few settings I had on my profile and Ryan was the first match to pop up.  We went through the prerequisite multiple choice and short answer questions before meeting for coffee.

Here are some examples of the questions we answered for each other (and yes, these are the actual questions):

Charlotte’s question to Ryan:
1.  Describe an interest you have that you would truly hope your partner could share with you.
I enjoy travelling and I hope that my partner would too. I have an interest in cars and several times a year I drive down to Austin for a weekend to drive through Hill Country along Lake Travis with an exotic car club. Other times I travel to Arkansas and the Ozarks to explore and camp. I’ve been to 40 out of the 50 states exploring everything this great country has to offer. I loved touring Europe two years ago (my favorite places are Switzerland, Northern Italy and Bavaria) and I look forward to upcoming trips to France and Denmark for work. I work in a very international setting and always meeting people from difference places and cultures – I am amazed at all the unique places there are in the world – I want to visit and experience them all! I believe it’s important for my partner to be excited to do these types of activities and really enjoy them.
 

Ryan’s question to Charlotte:
2.  Describe an interest you have that you would truly hope your partner could share with you.

I love love love to DANCE!!!!!!!! (Ok, I like to travel too, but you already took that one). I don’t expect my partner to be awesome at dancing, by no means am I, but he has to be at least willing to try it. Dancing is something that I have found joy in since I was 5 and I hope to share that with someone.

 

After our first meeting I was really interested in knowing more about this man.  He made me laugh, was so smart, and of course very handsome.  The thing I love about our relationship is that I never had any doubts about him.  I never had to question if I wanted to see him again or not, it was a given.  Here is the first picture we took together at a Spazmatic’s concert.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. eHarmony_jack
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 12:56:45

    Hi Charlotte,

    Congratulations to you and Ryan! Your smiles in that wonderful photo tell it all! Thanks for blogging about your eHarmony experience. We are so happy that, with some help from you, you found each other on our site!

    If you haven’t already done so, we’d like to invite you to share your story on our Facebook page and keep us up- to-date on your wedding plans: http://www.facebook.com/eharmony.

    All the best,
    Jack

    Reply

Leave a Reply

